How I Created a Personal Food System that Works for Me

Trevor Acy
3 min readAug 19, 2017

--

I’ve been hung up on the idea of systems, not goals, for a while now.

I first heard the idea from Scott Adams (creator of Dilbert). He has a few excellent blog posts on it and a very funny Slide Share.

Right out of the gate in the blog, he has this to say:

For example, losing ten pounds is a goal (that most people can’t maintain), whereas learning to eat right is a system that substitutes knowledge for willpower.

Changing my eating habits has definitely been as tough as cultivating a habit of waking up earlier and working out.

And thankfully, Iron Tribe and my Coaches understand the importance diet plays with fitness.

Iron Tribe Instagram

My Food System

There are two types of systems. The one Adams calls out above is knowledge. The other is choice.

Or rather, automatic choice.

I have removed choice from the majority of my diet.

Breakfast through mid morning I eat and drink the exact same thing every day.

The night before, when I’m packing my gym bag (another system), I set out:

This, plus refills of water and a cup or two of coffee, is what I have every single day.

I also pack my lunch the night before.

Previously, I would scrap together leftovers or pack random things. And when I didn’t have leftovers or other options, I would usually end up going out to eat for lunch which inevitably led to some less than desirable food options.

Now, I have a system.

  • Overnight oats (vary the fruit)
  • Fresh greens salad (vary the protein)
  • One whole piece of fruit (different than the fruit in the oats)

At first, that didn’t seem like enough food for me. I sort of have a reputation for eating a lot.

Okay, I don’t sort of have that reputation, I definitely do. Some of my team members lovingly refer to me as the garbage disposal because I will eat everything left on their plates when they’re done.

Surprisingly though, this has been plenty of food. I’m not stuffed after lunch, which used to be my signal that I’ve had enough to eat.

Dinner is where I get variety and when I employ the knowledge system instead of the choice system.

Working with my Coaches I know what foods to eat, specifically which are best to eat in the evening. Then when I’m meal planning with Kate we decide on full plates of great food.

Like one night this week we had:

  • Grilled pork chops
  • Baked sweet potatoes
  • Kale, sautéed in coconut oil with lemon

Delicious.

I also make sure and have snack food available at my desk or in my bag. I’m fond of trail mix, particularly low sugar — high protein mixes. Aldi has some great $1.99 bags that easily last me a whole week.

There is also room for grace in this system.

We have breakfast and lunch team meetings occasionally at work. Sometimes more than occasionally.

I won’t bring a packed lunch to go out to eat with my team. I’m not “that guy”.

But I will, again, employ the knowledge system and make better choices. For instance, this week we went out for Greek food and their meals come with potato chips. So I subbed the chips for a tomato and cucumber salad.

I know you’re probably thinking that sounds incredibly boring, to eat essentially the exact same thing every day. But I’m not saying this has to be your system.

I’m just saying you have to have a system.

One reason Adams hates goals is because there are only two outcomes to goals. You either fail at achieving them and lose motivation. Or you successfully reach your goal (lost ten pounds, whoo-hoo!) and backslide because you take your foot off the gas.

Systems allow you to roll through the good times and the bad times. They create positive feedback loops and perpetual machines of continuous improvement.

Where do you have a goal that you should have a system?

--

--

Trevor Acy

I'm good at two things: making mistakes & learning from them.